Aug 24

New Law: If a patrol car is pulled over to the side of the road, you have to change to the next lane (away from the stopped vehicle) or slow down by 20 mph. Every state except Hawaii , Maryland and D.C. has this law.  In California , the “Move-over” law became operative on January 1, 2010.

A friend’s son got a ticket for this recently. A police car was on the side of the road, giving a ticket to someone else. He slowed down to pass but did not move into the other lane. A  second police car immediately pulled him over and gave him a ticket. He had never heard of the law. It is a fairly new law that states if any emergency vehicle is on the side of the road, if you are able, you are to move into the far lane.

The cost of the ticket was $754, with 3 points on your license and a mandatory court appearance. Please let everyone you know that drives about this new law. It is true, see details at the following web address: Move Over America

Here is the Public Service Announcement from their site:

~ Grandpa Jack: Thornton, Colorado

written by admin

Leave a Reply

© 2023 - Privacy Policy